Wondering What The DUI Penalties Are In Massachusetts?

Drunk driving is taken very seriously in Massachusetts, as in most states. If the police smell alcohol during a traffic stop, you are likely to be arrested. Similarly, Massachusetts imposes severe penalties for a DUI conviction: fines are high and jail time is a very real possibility, especially for multiple offenses.

Attorney Francis M. Doran, Jr., is a former district attorney who now represents criminal defendants — his experience with the court system provides him with in-depth understanding of DUI penalties in Massachusetts, including the best methods for pleading to a lesser offense, or getting the charges dismissed altogether.

Contact Doran & Doran, P.C., to schedule an appointment and learn how you can deal with your situation or possibly avoid jail.

Penalties Depend On Previous Offenses

Penalties for conviction of DUI in Massachusetts are harsh. The degree of severity varies for first-offense DUIs and multiple offenders, as well as those charged with underage DUI. Generally speaking, DUI penalties include:

  • A minimum fine of $5,000, up to $10,000 for a second conviction and up to $15,000 for a third
  • License suspension for one to two years; a third conviction results in an eight-year license suspension
  • Court-ordered drug and alcohol treatment, either in lieu of conviction for first-time offenders or as an additional consequence of multiple DUIs
  • Jail time, up to five years for more than two convictions
  • Increased insurance costs

The court may also order multiple offenders to install an ignition interlock device at their own expense. To avoid these severe penalties that are likely to limit employment opportunities and tarnish your reputation in the community, work with an experienced DUI attorney who understands the criminal justice system. He may be able to secure dismissal of the charges against you, whether through suppression of illegally obtained evidence or demonstrating that the Breathalyzer equipment used to measure your blood alcohol concentration was not functioning properly.

See If Your Case Could Be Dismissed

In Framingham, Natick, Wellesley, Southborough and throughout the West Metro in Massachusetts, call license suspension attorney Frank Doran at 508-653-1761 or contact Doran & Doran, P.C., online. There is no charge for the first meeting.