Teen Jailed After Facebook Drunk Driving Admission

A teen driver recently found himself in hot water - and in jail - after posting on Facebook about his New Year's Eve drunk driving escapades.

According to several major news outlets, an 18-year-old Oregon resident was arrested after posting the following message to his Facebook profile early on New Year's Day:

"Drivin drunk... classic ;) but to whoever's vehicle i hit i am sorry. :P"

At least two of the teen's Facebook friends reported the message to police, who were already in the process of investigating the hit-and-run. When officers arrived at the teen's home, they found telltale damage on his vehicle and arrested him. He was charged with two counts of failing to perform the duties of a driver.

Massachusetts Drunk Driving Penalties

In Massachusetts, driving under the influence of alcohol is a serious matter at any age. The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for drivers age 21 and older is 0.08, but underage drivers can face serious consequences for driving with a BAC as low as 0.02.

Even a first-time DUI offense can carry steep fines, jail time and license suspension in Massachusetts, and the penalties become more severe with repeated convictions. Drivers face fines of up to $5,000 and imprisonment for up to 2.5 years for a first DUI conviction, as well the suspension of driving privileges for one year. The sentences increase substantially with each subsequent conviction; a fifth-time DUI offender in Massachusetts may be fined up to $50,000 and imprisoned for up to five years, and faces a lifetime driver's license suspension.

In addition to fines, imprisonment and license suspension, people convicted of two or more drunk driving in Massachusetts are required to use an ignition interlock device on every vehicle they own or operate. An ignition interlock device is a mechanism that attaches to a vehicle's ignition system and requires the driver to supply a breath sample before starting the vehicle. If alcohol is detected in the driver's breath, the vehicle will not start.

Sentence Enhancements For DUI In Michigan

Along with steeper penalties for repeat offenses, Massachusetts DUI sentencing laws also require stricter treatment of drivers convicted of DUI when certain additional factors are present. For instance, a person convicted of DUI with a suspended license faces up to 2.5 additional years in prison, $10,000 in additional fines and an additional one-year license suspension along with the sentence imposed for the underlying DUI offense. Similar additional penalties apply for drivers convicted of DUI with a child age 14 or younger in the vehicle.

If you or a loved one is facing charges for drunk driving in Massachusetts, it is important to seek help from a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who can advise you of your rights and advocate on your behalf for a fair and prompt resolution to the charges.